I Write This For You

And boys, in case you didn’t know it, this song, all of this, this song is for you. This brings me to the greatest influence of my life, my amazing mother, Evelyn. Mom, I know you’re inside those blue eyes somewhere and that there are so many things that you won’t understand tonight.”

“But this is the only important one to take in: I love you, I love you, I love you. And I hope that if I say this three times, it will magically and perfectly enter into your soul, fill you with grace and the joy of knowing that you did good in this life.

-Jodie Foster, in her Golden Globes acceptance speech for lifetime achievement. Watch the full speech, and read the full transcript here.

More than an announcement of retirement or a coming out publicly speech, Jodie Foster’s speech at the Golden Globes a couple of weeks back was an expression of love–to her fellow actors, directors, stage-hands, ex-lover and co-parent Cydney Bernard, and her children.

Like love, the speech wasn’t completely coherent, but if you went with it, how could your heart not beak a little when she says to her mom, “You’re a great mom. Please take that with you when you’re finally OK to go”?

I bring up Jodie Foster’s speech, because it’s been a while since I last posted anything to this blog, which has generated all sorts of emotions, most of them not so positive–guilt, sadness, anger at myself. “I want to write, why can’t I write?”

parents

Sign of the Times: I got this photo from my dad’s facebook.

But all of those emotions pale in comparison to love. My dad is a regular reader of my blog. And he not only reads each post, but he leaves a comment! When I was in Los Angeles for Christmas, my mom said to me, “How come I am not on your e-mail list about things that you have published on Africa.com?” I said to her, “Well, I figure that dad will share my e-mail with you, and dad actually comments on each post on my blog! He is what every website and blogger wants. The engaged reader.”

But is my dad going to stop being interested in my life if I stop blogging–or if I’m really bad about calling back? No! The other day, after a long work day of trying to drive up reader engagement, clicks, and comments in my newly minted position as assistant editor at Africa.com, my dad texted me, which is already adorable in itself. My mom is an IT person. My dad is a pastor. But in his attempts to do things the “modern way,” he has started texting the youth at church instead of calling or e-mailing. “This week’s hymns: #4, 15, 376,” etc.

I think they appreciate it.

I certainly do. A parent’s unconditional love: what money, and all the SEO juice in the world can’t buy you.

Thanks for reading, /c

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

