Pulling Espresso Shots and Other Updates On Life

You may ask yourself, how do I work this?
You may ask yourself, where is that large automobile?
You may tell yourself, this is not my beautiful house
You may tell yourself, this is not my beautiful wife

Talking Heads, “Once in a Lifetime”

———-

Last Monday, I found myself on the eleventh floor of a building in Manhattan learning how to pull espresso shots and steam milk. Along the way, I had to sip and taste espresso–lots and lots of espresso. What is the difference between espresso brewed 10 seconds in versus 30 seconds in? How do  you get that shiny gleam on top of your milk? What is the proper pouring technique to get that oh-so-beautiful latte art?

I was wired. Usually, I brew myself one cup of green tea in the morning, flush those leaves two or three more times, then change over to herbal.

But about two weeks before, I had begun my job at the city bakery, so here I was learning how to make espresso.

Life could be much worse, no?

In other work-related news, my piece on African players in the NBA was published today on Africa.com.

On the home front, we had a wonderful Thanksgiving–filled with cousins, friends, good food, and pisco punch. My cousin Irene dropped by with her beau of seven years, and turns out that he is Colombian-American, and is a huge fan of Mana. He’s even dragged Irene to one of their concerts at the Garden. The only other Asian person in the crowd? Sitting right next to her!

The Friday after, I got to see aunts, uncles, and my grandmother at dinner. I took a turn sitting at the “grown-ups” table to practice speaking Cantonese and to get tips on poaching and steaming fresh chicken. P.S., Dad, third uncle says he learned how to cook chicken from the best chef in all of Macau. I need to get that story sometime!

Thanks for reading!

/christine

This entry was posted in Basketball, blogging, Languages!, life, New York, random things that make me happy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pulling Espresso Shots and Other Updates On Life

  1. Ricky Lai says:

    Thanks for telling me there are many ways making Espresso. My best coffee is home made ice coffee from the G7 instant Vietman Coffee bag. I first boil 1/4 cup of hot water and pour it into the cup. Then I add ice to the top of the cup after stirring the coffee. The taste is not sweet and it gives the genuine taste of coffee when it is cold. Last week I went to mentle court with one family. They tried to get the conservatorship of a mentle distress family member and sent him back to Vietman. I translate a letter for the family and still working for the case. Sometimesis this the right thing to do as a pastor. Good to hear the Thanksgiving gathering! I and Kit went for a BBQ in a church member’s house nearby. Love Dad

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

