A Quick Soup Usually Reserved For Camping

This is my dad cooking, when he is camping.

The closest thing I have as reference for cooking on the fly with shortcuts is my dad cooking at a camp site, or in hotel rooms for road trips. Otherwise, at home when my siblings and I came home from school, our grandmother cooked us a full meal with rice. If there was a spot of sauce on the plate, she wiped it clean. For dinner, my dad cooked three or four courses of vegetables, seafood, and meat. There was always a soup.

Even when we go camping, there must be soup. But some things have to give. My dad takes cans of soup, then adds to them. For example, to a can of chicken noodle soup, he will add ginger, and a vegetable. Once we got lucky on a camping trip, and spotted a man who had just finished fishing, and was filleting his fish; he was about to throw out the heads of the fish when my dad asked if he could take them. We had a delicious fish soup that night under the stars.

While my dad only cooks at this level when camping, I do this kind of soup when I’m sick, or when I feel lazy but still want something cooked and filling. Today, I was definitely feeling the latter for lunch, so I bought myself a can of minestrone soup, and added fennel seed, ginger root, crushed red pepper, black pepper, and lentils.

What do you cook on the fly when you are feeling lazy?

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Quick Soup Usually Reserved For Camping

  1. Ricky Lai says:

    Hi Christian, we had home made dry bok choy soup this evening. I added red date,carrot, turkey bones,and ginger to the soup. It took about couple of hours to get the soup ready. simple and good too! I like the fish heads picture. Love Dad

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

